Print  Print © MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

Preview and Squad Announcement for Final Round
01/16/2019 8:33 PM ET

The final round of the 2018/19 ABL season is upon us as the Cavs look to gain momentum heading into playoffs. The boys return to MIT Ballpark to host the Perth Heat in what is sure to be a gripping contest as the Cavs look to improve their position for the playoffs.

Once again the Cavs have named a strong squad against a dangerous Heat outfit. There are many possible outcomes as the standings are extremely close, most notably the Cavs sit equal second with rivals Brisbane as it stands.

Depending on results over the whole competition this weekend, Canberra can finish as high as 1st place and as low as 3rd place. In an advantage for the Cavs, a three-way tie with Sydney and Brisbane would see them finish on top of the North-East Division due to their greater record in clashes between the teams.

The players will be out to improve their position in the standings and prove to the rest of the competition that they are the benchmark. No matter what the result from this coming weekend, the boys are motivated and determined to take on any challenge that fronts them in the coming weeks.

It is the time of year where the best of the best excel under the heightened pressure of the nearing playoffs. The question remains, who will stand up for the Cavs this weekend at the MIT Ballpark? Steven Kent is one name that comes to mind considering his recent hot-form since the departure of the impressive Shota Imanaga.

David Kandilas is another one to watch this series after reaching equal-third in the ABL with 12 hits and timing his run to form perfectly. However, if offence is to be a focus then there is none more explosive than Zach Wilson who has made hitting home-runs a regular occurrence and is enough of a reason for fans to come out to watch.


Here is your squad for our final regular season series:

Kouki Aoyagi

JR Bunda

Michael Crouse

Michael Fransoso

David Kandilas

Logan Kingham

Yuki Kuniyoshi

Zech Lemond

Craig Massey

Tomoya Mikami

Lee Mills

Boss Moanaroa

Kyle Perkins

Robbie Perkins

Josh Warner

Cam Warner

Zach Wilson

Madison Younginer


Starting Rotation:

Steven Kent

Kyle Kinman

Frank Gailey

Steven Chambers



This story was not subject to the approval of the Australian Baseball League or its clubs.