Print  Print © MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

Wade spurs Bandits to win over Cavs
11/16/2017 5:34 AM ET

A four-run seventh-inning has propelled Brisbane to an 8-5 Opening Night victory over Canberra at Holloway Field on Thursday night.

The Bandits broke a 4-4 tie on the back of two-run singles by Logan Wade and Adam Weisenburger, before Ryan Searle closed the door for his first save of the season.

Wade was the hero - putting Brisbane ahead for good in the seventh - as he went 2-for-4 with four RBIs in a strong season-opening display.

The Bandits made a nervous start as the first of two errors in the opening frame allowed the Cavalry to score first.

After starter Ryan Bollinger walked lead-off hitter Buddy Reed, the Canberra outfielder used his speed to steal second and then capitalise on a throwing error to score the first run of the game.

Brisbane took little time to hit back.

Lead-off man Aaron Whitefield (3-for-5 with two stolen bases) doubled and then scored on Chih-Sheng Lin's first ABL hit.

The Cavs produced a pair of stunning defensive plays at the wall - firstly Buddy Reed to end the second and then David Kandilas to start Bandits' half of the third - to stop Brisbane taking the lead.

Canberra broke through for their first hit of the night in the fourth.

Ryan Kalish singled and Kandilas homered to right-centre field to hand the Cavs a 3-1 lead.

Wade ensured the Bandits answered back in the bottom of the fourth, nailing a two-run home run to centre field, before T.J. Bennett's solo shot handed the defending champions their first lead of the night.

Casey McElroy's seventh-inning single for the Cavalry again squared the scores, before Brisbane's offence took advantage of Canberra's bullpen in the seventh.

A late home run by Robbie Perkins was not enough to start a Canberra fightback.

Bollinger worked 5.2 innings for the Bandits, allowing two earned runs and striking out nine hitters.

Cavalry starter Brian Grening gave up four runs on eight hits in six innings, striking out four.

The four-game series continues at 6.30pm AEST on Friday night.

This story was not subject to the approval of the Australian Baseball League or its clubs.