Skip to main content
  • Adelaide Giants
  • Auckland Tuatara
  • Brisbane Bandits
  • Canberra Cavalry
  • Geelong-Korea
  • Melbourne Aces
  • Perth Heat
  • Sydney Blue Sox
Below is an advertisement.
30 years of Perth Heat Baseball
In season 2019/20, the Perth Heat will celebrate its 30th anniversary.
09/10/2019 11:16 PM ET
The original 1989 Perth Heat roster
The original 1989 Perth Heat roster 

Time flies when you're having fun, and fun is exactly what we've been having over the last three decades as we celebrate 30 years of Perth Heat baseball.

From the inception of the Heat in 1989, Perth's professional baseball team has captured six Claxton Shield titles - the most of any team.

In fact, four of those titles have come since the re-birth of the Australian Baseball League in 2010, including a stretch of four titles in five years between 2010 - 2015. 

It's that success on the field that has led the Heat to become a powerhouse of Australian baseball, and why its name is recognised around the world.

Having nurtured and developed Australian MLB players Warwick Saupold, Liam Hendriks, Luke Hughes, Mark Ettles and Peter Moylan as well as playing a role in the careers of Greg Jelks, Mychal Givens, Mike Ohlman, Jake Fraley, Mike Brosseau and Pete Kozma, Perth has a proud history of producing talented players on the world stage. 

In season 2019/20, the Heat will celebrate that very same proud history as it acknowledges the past 30 years of success and looks forward to the next 30 years.

Members of the original 1989/90 Perth Heat roster will be celebrated ahead of the Heat's Round 2 game against the Canberra Cavalry on Saturday, November 30. 

More more information about how you can be part of the celebrations, please join the Perth Heat 30 Years Facebook Page. 

This story was not subject to the approval of the Australian Baseball League or its clubs.