Skip to main content
  • Adelaide Bite
  • Auckland Tuatara
  • Brisbane Bandits
  • Canberra Cavalry
  • Geelong-Korea
  • Melbourne Aces
  • Perth Heat
  • Sydney Blue Sox
Below is an advertisement.
Heat confirm return to ABL playoffs
Perth becomes first team to clinch playoff spot
01/12/2019 8:21 AM ET
Pete Kozma drove in three runs in Perth's big win (C) SMP IMAGES/ABL MEDIA
Pete Kozma drove in three runs in Perth's big win (C) SMP IMAGES/ABL MEDIA 

Perth is the first team to punch its ticket to the Brut Australian Baseball League 2019 Playoffs presented by Boral after overpowering Geelong-Korea on Saturday night.

The Heat booked their return to the postseason in style, racing out of the gates before recording a 19-1 victory at Perth Harley-Davidson Ballpark.

Tampa Bay Rays prospect Tristran Gray homered twice and finished with seven RBI and Carl Chester also went yard for the sixth time this season as Perth claimed its 22nd win.


Heat starter Conor Lourey recorded his fifth win of the campaign, striking out four and allowing one run on two hits and two walks in six innings.

Robbie Glendinning's two-run single in the first handed Perth another early lead.

The Heat added to their advantage in the second before piling on five runs in the third.

Gray's eighth homer of the season - a three-run shot to centre field - capped of the big inning and put Perth up 10-1.

He went deep again in the bottom of the eighth.

Chester added a two-run shot in the fifth and Glendinning drove in his third run of the night.

Pete Kozma also had three RBI for the Heat.

Lochlan Southee and Roberth Garcia combined to toss three scoreless innings in relief for Perth.

Earlier, Tim Kennelly became the first player in the reborn ABL to reach 50 stolen bases.

The Heat's next task is to lock up top spot in the South-West Division and earn hosting rights to an ABL Semi-Final.

Perth sits a win clear of Melbourne with five games to go.

The Heat will chase a series sweep of GK from 1pm (local time) tomorrow before travelling to Canberra in the final round of the regular season.



This story was not subject to the approval of the Australian Baseball League or its clubs.