Skip to main content
  • Adelaide Bite
  • Auckland Tuatara
  • Brisbane Bandits
  • Canberra Cavalry
  • Geelong-Korea
  • Melbourne Aces
  • Perth Heat
  • Sydney Blue Sox
Below is an advertisement.
Bandits walk off for series win over Sox
Campbell drives in winning runs in the 10th
12/02/2018 1:48 AM ET
Brisbane utility Wade Dutton opened the scoring with his first homer of the season (C) SMP IMAGES/ABL MEDIA
Brisbane utility Wade Dutton opened the scoring with his first homer of the season (C) SMP IMAGES/ABL MEDIA 

Brisbane was forced to dig deep after a late Sydney rally but came out on top 6-5 in extras to stay top of the Brut Australian Baseball League North-East Division at One Hub Stadium powered by Optus on Sunday.

Outfielder Andrew Campbell drove in the winning run for the Bandits as they completed a 3-1 series win over the Sox after dropping the opener on Friday night..

Sydney pulled level and then took the lead on the strength of homers from Dwayne Kemp and Gift Ngoepe in the top of the ninth.

Riley Unroe then scored his second run of the game in the bottom-half of the ninth to bring Brisbane level.


But the Bandits were unable to cross a second run, forcing extra innings.

With international tiebreak rules in place the Sox were unable to score a run.

Brisbane did not waste their opportunity with Campbell crushing a ball to centre field, over the head of Shen Hao-Wei, to complete a walk-off win.

Earlier, Brisbane took a 4-0 lead in the fourth inning on TJ Bennett's third homer of the season after Wade Dutton blasted a solo shot in the third.

Sydney fought back, with Alex Howe scoring for the visitors on a Michael Campbell single.

The Sox found more success in the sixth inning with Trent D'Antonio and Jacob Younis scoring to cut the margin to one run.

Brisbane will head to Canberra for an ABL Championship Series rematch in round four, starting on Thursday night.

Sydney hits the road again to face Auckland with game one on Friday afternoon.


This story was not subject to the approval of the Australian Baseball League or its clubs.