Skip to main content
  • Adelaide Bite
  • Auckland Tuatara
  • Brisbane Bandits
  • Canberra Cavalry
  • Geelong-Korea
  • Melbourne Aces
  • Perth Heat
  • Sydney Blue Sox
Below is an advertisement.
Geelong-Korea roster announced
Former KBO pitchers headline 25-man roster
10/29/2018 1:14 AM ET
Geelong-Korea manager Dae-Sung Koo is confident the ABL newcomers can have instant success
Geelong-Korea manager Dae-Sung Koo is confident the ABL newcomers can have instant success 

Former KBO pitchers Jin-Woo Kim, Jae-Gon Lee and Jin-Yong Jang headline Geelong-Korea's inaugural 25-man Australian Baseball League roster.

The expansion team - which will be managed by Korean legend Dae-Sung Koo - today revealed it will bring 11 pitchers and 14 positional players to Australia for its first season in the ABL.

Jin-Woo Kim brings plenty of experience to the ABL, having played 247 KBO games across 13 seasons for the Kia Tigers.

The 35-year-old right-hander did not feature this season but holds a 74-61 record and 4.07 ERA across his career.

Jin-Woo Kim recorded 956 strikeouts in 1124 1/3 innings in the KBO.

Jae-Gon Lee played 67 games with Lotte Giants and Jin-Yong Jang made 46 appearances for LG Twins.

Geelong-Korea has also secured the services of 20-year-old outfielder Kwon Kwang-Min.

Kwon has played 102 minor league games for Chicago Cubs affiliates across the past three seasons.

He signed with the Cubs for US$1.2 million in 2015.

Kwon hit .225 with 10 RBIs in 44 games split between Class-A (short season) and Rookie-Ball in 2018.

Manager Koo - a former Sydney Blue Sox pitcher - was confident the newcomers would have success.

"I wanted to be with the ones who are desperate to play baseball not just how well they play baseball," Koo said.

"I have emphasised the importance of team work and never give up attitude to our team during the training camp."

Geelong-Korea arrives in Australia this week ahead of its ABL opener away to Sydney on November 15.


The roster


  • Hwi Kwong

  • Hwa-Yeong Kang

  • Byung-Keun Kim

  • Jin-Woo Kim

  • Jin-Sun Bae

  • Sang-Hak Lee

  • Jae-Gon Lee

  • Na-On Gil

  • Ki-Hoon Ryu

  • Ji-Woong Park

  • Jin-Yong Jang


  • Tae-Joon Lim

  • Seung-Won Shin

  • Sung-Gu Han


  • Dae-Gun Kook

  • Seung-Hun Kim

  • Han-Gyeol Cho

  • Hwi-Yeon Park

  • Joo-Ho Lee


  • Kwang-Min Kwon

  • Hak-Jun Noh

  • Jee-Ho Suh

  • Yong-Wook Lee

  • Min-Do Jang

  • Yun-Hyeok Choi

Manager: Dae-Sung Koo

This story was not subject to the approval of the Australian Baseball League or its clubs.