Skip to main content
  • Adelaide Bite
  • Auckland Tuatara
  • Brisbane Bandits
  • Canberra Cavalry
  • Geelong-Korea
  • Melbourne Aces
  • Perth Heat
  • Sydney Blue Sox
Below is an advertisement.
Auckland reveals name and colours
Expansion team to be called Tuatara - a native NZ reptile
08/26/2018 9:17 PM ET

The Australian Baseball League's newest team will be known as the Auckland Tuatara.

The New Zealand expansion team announced today it would be called Tuatara and adopt teal and navy blue - which have a strong link to the region's marine heritage - as its colours.

Auckland Tuatara Board member Brett O'Riley said the Tuatara was an iconic reptile, unique to New Zealand.

"(The Tuatara is) part of the Hauraki Gulf Islands conservation programme in Auckland," O'Riley said.

"We are celebrating the resilience of the Tuatara as our oldest surviving species.

"We want the team to mirror those qualities on the diamond."

Auckland Tuatara will make its ABL debut on the road to Perth from November 15-18.

Baseball New Zealand chief executive Ryan Flynn said a lot of work had been done to get the expansion team up-and-running.

"We have tried to squeeze two years' worth of work into six months," Flynn said.

"There is a tremendous appetite for professional baseball in New Zealand and we are delighted to be able to give Kiwi sports fans the opportunity to see it first-hand.

"It is a watershed moment for the sport in New Zealand … Kiwi kids will have a local team to aspire to and our leading players will be able to play professionally while being based here at home."

The Tuatara also announced their 12 home games during their inaugural season will be played at McLeod Park in Te Atatu.

Auckland's home opener is against Brisbane on November 22.

The Tuatara will move into their long-term home at QBE Stadium, Albany, for the 2019/2020 season.

Follow the Auckland Tuatara on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. The team's website will launch soon.

This story was not subject to the approval of the Australian Baseball League or its clubs.