Skip to main content
  • Adelaide Bite
  • Auckland Tuatara
  • Brisbane Bandits
  • Canberra Cavalry
  • Geelong-Korea
  • Melbourne Aces
  • Perth Heat
  • Sydney Blue Sox
Below is an advertisement.
Aussie pair selected for Futures ASG
Left-hander pitchers to feature for World Team in Washington
07/08/2018 11:52 PM ET

Two Australians and a former Canberra Cavalry ABL import will feature in the 2018 All-Star Futures Game at Nationals Park in Washington next Monday (Australian time).

Aussie left-handed pitchers Lewis Thorpe (Minnesota Twins) and Alex Wells (Baltimore Orioles) have been selected for the World Team, while San Diego Padres' prospect Buddy Reed will line up for the US Team.

Thorpe and Wells will become the 12th and 13th Australians to feature in the annual showcase game featuring the top Minor League prospects.

Luke Prokopec, Grant Balfour, John Stephens, Brad Thomas, Justin Huber, Travis Blackley, Trent Oeltjen, Rich Thompson, Luke Hughes and Liam Hendriks have all gone on to reach the Big Leagues after taking part in the showcase game.

Thorpe and Wells will be hoping to follow in their footsteps.

Wells is currently the eighth-ranked prospect in the Baltimore system while Thorpe is 11th in the Twins organisation.

In 16 MiLB games this season, Wells has compiled a 3-6 record with 4.13 ERA.

Thorpe holds a 4.03 ERA and 4-4 record in 17 appearances.

The World Team will be led by three-time World Series Champion and 10-time All-Star David Ortiz.

Torii Hunter - a five-time All-Star and veteran of 19 MLB seasons - will manage Reed's US Team.

Rhys Hoskins (Sydney Blue Sox) Ronald Acuna and Dylan Cozens (Melbourne Aces), Travis Demeritte and Ji-Man Choi (Adelaide Bite) and Justin O' Conner (Brisbane Bandits) have also played in the Futures Game after their time in the ABL.

The 20th edition of the game will be played as part of the MLB All-Star Week.


Australians in the All-Star Futures Game:

1999 - Luke Prokopec

2000 - Craig Anderson & Brad Thomas

2001 - Grant Balfour

2002 - John Stephens & Justin Huber

2003 - Travis Blackley & Justin Huber

2005 - Justin Huber

2006 - Trent Oeltjen

2007 - Rich Thompson

2008 - Luke Hughes

2010 - Liam Hendriks

2011 - Liam Hendriks

This story was not subject to the approval of the Australian Baseball League or its clubs.