Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.
Baum named Hitting Champion
Cavalry slugger lights up league
04/22/2018 9:37 PM ET

In a season where multiple men staked their claim for the Brett Brothers Hitting Champion, one man stood out and proved an invaluable asset to his team.

That man is Jay Baum, and after a memorable season, he becomes the third member of the Canberra Cavalry after Brian Burgamy (2011/12) and Adam Buschini (2012/13) to win the Brett Brothers Hitting Champion award.

Baum amassed an unparalleled batting average (.439) to compliment nine homers and 41 RBI. Finishing with an on base percentage of .484 (1st in the league) and a slugging percentage of .791 (1st in the league), Baum was the lynchpin of the Canberra Cavalry's run to the ABL Championship Series.

Baum's ability at the plate was obvious from the get-go this season, as he reached base in 30 of his 34 games for the Cavalry.

Canberra Manager Michael Collins praised Baum's reliability with bat in hand.

"Baum was one of the most consistent hitters Canberra has ever had,' Collins said.

"He had a very solid approach at the plate, was able to handle most pitches thrown and hit with purpose for the entire season."

Baum will spend his 2018 season in the American Association, where he will represent the Sioux City Explorers.

Brett Brothers Batting Champion

2010/11: James McOwen (Adelaide Bite)
2011/12: Brian Burgamy (Canberra Cavalry)
2012/13: Adam Buschini (Canberra Cavalry)
2013/14: Ryan Casteel (Melbourne Aces)
2014/15: Aaron Miller (Adelaide Bite)
2015/16: Justin WIlliams (Brisbane Bandits)
2016/17: Mitch Dening (Adelaide Bite)
2017/18: Jay Baum (Canberra Cavalry)

Stay tuned as the ABL's 2017/18 Helms Award for Most Valuable Player will be announced on Wednesday 2 May.

All six of the ABL's 2017/18 Awards (Rookie of the Year, Gold Glove, Reliever of the Year, Pitcher of the Year, Brett Brothers Batting Champion and Helms Award) were determined by a 3-2-1 vote conducted by each of the 2017/18 ABL Managers.

This story was not subject to the approval of the Australian Baseball League or its clubs.