Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.
Lamb takes home Reliever of the Year
Heat's Mr. Consistency shines in bullpen role
04/06/2018 1:05 AM ET

In an organisation that has possessed nearly unparalleled star power in the ABL including the likes of Luke Hughes, Warwick Saupold, Joey Wong and Mike Ekstrom, one man has flown under the radar and consistently done the job asked of him.

That man is Cameron Lamb, and after putting together a stellar 2017/18 season, the Perth Heat righty has been voted the Reliever of the Year by the six ABL managers.

Lamb put together an extremely impressive ABL campaign, featuring in a career high 17 games, finishing with a 3.13 ERA and joining Benn Grice as the second Heater to win the award.

Sharing the league lead in saves (6) with Adelaide Bite flamethrower Loek van Mil, Lamb was a model of consistency, with hitters only managing a .209 average against the 28-year-old righty.

Lamb's final save of the season came against the Melbourne Aces on January 27 2018. That save was the 16th of Lamb's career and sees him stand alone as the all-time saves record holder for the Perth Heat in the ABL since 2010, eclipsing the record of 15 set by Brendan Wise.

Against such a strong group of nominees including multiple past winners, Lamb is delighted to take home the award.

"It's a huge honour and a very proud moment for me and my family," Lamb said.

"There are a lot of great pitchers in this league, just to be considered is an honour."

"We had a really nice group of youth and experience this season in Perth, it's going to be exciting to see what the Heaters can do next season."

Heat manager Andy Kyle praised Lamb's work ethic and described him as a 'key piece' of the bullpen.

"Cam is a big reason why we were able to win so many of those close games," Kyle said.

"He was our go-to guy in high leverage situations, and did an amazing job all season. We knew that when he's healthy, he's got the quality stuff to get guys out." 

ABL Reliever of the Year winners:
2010/11: Dae-Sung Koo (Sydney Blue Sox)
2011/12: Benn Grice (Perth Heat)
2012/13: Matthew Williams (Sydney Blue Sox)
2013/14: Dae-Sung Koo (Sydney Blue Sox)
2014/15: Josh Tols (Adelaide Bite)
2015/16: Ryan Searle (Brisbane Bandits)
2016/17: Loek van Mil (Adelaide Bite)
2017/18: Cameron Lamb (Perth Heat)

Stay tuned as the ABL's 2017/18 Pitcher of the Year winner will be announced on Wednesday 18 April.

All six of the ABL's 2017/18 Awards (Rookie of the Year, Gold Glove, Reliever of the Year, Pitcher of the Year, Brett Brothers Batting Champion and Helms Award) were determined by a 3-2-1 vote conducted by each of the 2017/18 ABL Managers.

This story was not subject to the approval of the Australian Baseball League or its clubs.