Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.
Brammer goes back-to-back at Capps Medal
Capps Medal delivers double delight as stars recognised
03/22/2018 2:38 AM ET
Dylan Brammer (Port Adelaide) claimed back-to-back Capps Medals after finishing eight votes clear on Wednesday night's count.
Dylan Brammer (Port Adelaide) claimed back-to-back Capps Medals after finishing eight votes clear on Wednesday night's count. 

Dylan Brammer has joined the best of the best in South Australian Baseball after claiming his second consecutive Capps Medal on Wednesday night, with the Port Adelaide import finishing eight votes ahead of Henley & Grange's Landon Hernandez.

Collecting 39 votes, Brammer was the most consistent across the 2017/18 season with the Florida native joining the likes of Nick Talbot and Darren Fidge as recent back-to-back Capps Medal winners

He joins Scott Marshall (1997/98-1998/99) as Port Adelaide's only back-to-back winner

The early stages of the voting saw Hernandez burst out of the blocks as the pacesetter over the first 18 rounds before Brammer edged ahead by round 30 - and the 28-year-old never looked back.

"Port's a great team. A lot of great guys with a lot of talent and we made another Capps Medallist and I'm just thankful," Brammer said.

"It's a great relief and I just enjoy it here, that's why I've come the last two years.

"I never thought in a million years when I was younger I would be playing baseball in Australia."

If last season's win was built more on big hitting, superb pitching saw Brammer catch the eyes of umpires with a 1.18 ERA, nine wins and 104 strikeouts in 84 innings. With the bat he hit .341 and recorded the fourth most hits in the SABL.

The top five was rounded out by Jeremy Cresswell (Goodwood), Gary Owens (Woodville) and Curtis Mead (West Torrens).

The recognition did not end there for Curtis Mead with the 17-year-old named Adelaide Bite Rookie of the Year after a stunning rookie campaign which saw him hit .373 across 20 games.

Top honours for Adelaide belonged to a recent Team Australia addition, however, with starting pitcher Greg Mosel named Player of the Year.

Mosel picked up 42 strikeouts across his 10 starts for Adelaide, and in Round 5 he recorded career-best figures in a win against Brisbane, pitching seven shutout innings with eight strikeouts.

The night also saw awards handed out to rising stars with Sturt's Dylan Ridding named SABL Rookie of the Year while Glenelg's Tyson Arnold claimed the U19 Don Rice League MVP.

Sarah Jane Jameson also received the highest honour in the SA Women's Baseball with the Gawler star named MVP after helping guide her side to a maiden premiership.

Finally, the SABL All-Star Team was announced with eight Bite players (past and present) named, including Tyrone Hambly as Manager.

SABL All-Star Team 2017/18

Gary Owens (RF, Woodville), Terrell Joyce (CF, West Torrens), Thomas DeWolf (LF, Woodville), Jordan McArdle (1B, Sturt), Josh Cakebread (2B, Goodwood), Curtis Mead (SS, West Torrens), Austin Gallagher (3B, Kensington), Landon Hernandez (C, Henley & Grange), Tom Brice (DH, Sturt), Darren Fidge (SP, Goodwood), Dylan Brammer (RP, Port Adelaide), Jake Muscat (CP, Kensington)

This story was not subject to the approval of the Australian Baseball League or its clubs.