Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.
Cavalry punch 2018 ABLCS ticket
Starter Frank Gailey works 7 1/3 scoreless innings
02/04/2018 5:26 AM ET
Canberra starter Frank Gailey struck out 12 in 7 1/3 scoreless innings
Canberra starter Frank Gailey struck out 12 in 7 1/3 scoreless innings 

Canberra will face Brisbane in the 2018 Australian Baseball League Championship Series after topping Perth 3-1 on Sunday night.

Cavs' starter Frank Gailey tossed 7 1/3 scoreless innings and Canberra's offence chimed in when needed to complete a 2-1 semi-final series victory over the Heat at Perth Harley-Davidson Ballpark.

Gailey struck out 12, allowed three hits and did not give up a run despite issuing five walks.

The left-hander's no-hit bid was only broken up by Tim Kennelly's lead-off single in the sixth.

Gailey then worked out of a bases-loaded jam - after Luke Hughes (error) and Garrett Whitley (walk) reached - to keep the visitors' two-buffer in place.

Canberra opened the scoring on back-to-back errors by Perth teenager Jesse Williams in the first.

Casey McElroy singled and Jay Baum reached on an error ahead of the first run scoring on a throwing error by the second baseman.

The Cavs doubled their advantage in the fourth with Cameron Warner (single) scoring on a groundball by Lee Mills.

Canberra made it 3-0 on back-to-back two-out doubles by McElroy and David Kandilas in the seventh.

Gailey departed with runners at first and second and one out in the bottom of the eighth after Kennelly and Hughes singled.

Cavs' closer Michael Click struck out Whitley and Robbie Glendinning to end the threat.

Alex Hall homered in the top of the ninth to end the shutout.

Click recovered to get the final three outs.

Canberra will host game one of the ABLCS against Brisbane on Friday night..

The Bandits will host game two and three (if required) on Saturday and Sunday.

For more information and to buy your tickets to the ABL Championship Series, click here! #ABLSF #OurGame

This story was not subject to the approval of the Australian Baseball League or its clubs.