Skip to main content
  • Adelaide Bite
  • Auckland Tuatara
  • Brisbane Bandits
  • Canberra Cavalry
  • Geelong-Korea
  • Melbourne Aces
  • Perth Heat
  • Sydney Blue Sox
Below is an advertisement.
Veale deals as Heat earn series split
Nick Veale carries no-hitter into the seventh inning
01/20/2018 6:25 AM ET
Perth starter Nick Veale threw 6 1/3 scoreless innings, allowing just one hit (C) SMP IMAGES/ABL MEDIA
Perth starter Nick Veale threw 6 1/3 scoreless innings, allowing just one hit (C) SMP IMAGES/ABL MEDIA (James Worsfold)

Nick Veale carried a no-hitter into the seventh inning while Luke Hughes and Garrett Whitley homered as Perth split its series with Brisbane on Saturday night.

The Heat took game four of its top-of-the-table series with the Bandits 5-0 on the back of Veale tossing 6 1/3 one-hit innings at Holloway Field.

His no-hit bid was broken up by Lin Chih-sheng's lead-off single in the seventh.

Veale lasted one more out, striking out T.J. Bennett, before his night ended.

The right-hander finished with seven strikeouts and issued three walks in 6 1/3 innings as he dominated the Brisbane hitters.

Perth took the lead with a four-run third.

Bandits' starter Pat Young walked Jake Fraley and Tim Kennelly with one out before Hughes and Whitley homered back-to-back.

The Heat added a run to their lead in the seventh as Whitley drove in Kennelly.

But Perth's pitching - led by Veale - was the standout.

The Heat became the first team to keep Brisbane scoreless at Holloway Field since Melbourne on December 2, 2016, when Mark Hamburger tossed a complete game shutout.

While the Bandits' offence mustered one hit, Perth's finished with seven and stole six bases to earn a series split.

The Heat also showed some strong defence, including a tremendous play by Whitley in left field.

Brisbane travels to red-hot Canberra in the final round of the season.

Perth returns home to close out the regular season against Melbourne.

Get your round 10 tickets here! #OurGame

This story was not subject to the approval of the Australian Baseball League or its clubs.