Skip to main content
  • Adelaide Bite
  • Auckland Tuatara
  • Brisbane Bandits
  • Canberra Cavalry
  • Geelong-Korea
  • Melbourne Aces
  • Perth Heat
  • Sydney Blue Sox
Below is an advertisement.
Aces win first ever series in Adelaide
Melbourne shutout hosts to go .500 on season
11/25/2017 11:08 PM ET
Delmon Young drove in Melbourne's opening run in the first (C) SMP IMAGES/ABL MEDIA
Delmon Young drove in Melbourne's opening run in the first (C) SMP IMAGES/ABL MEDIA (Ryan Schembri / SMP Images / ABL Media )

Melbourne has notched up its first Australian Baseball League series win in Adelaide after coming out on top in a pitchers' duel at Adelaide Shores on Sunday.

The Aces prevailed 1-0, shutting out the Bite for the second time in the series, as the teams combined for just eight hits.

Melbourne scored the only run of the game in the top of the first as Delmon Young produced an RBI double off Adelaide starter Greg Mosel.

It was all about pitching from that point.

Aces' starter Christian Meister did not allow a hit while striking out four in three innings, before reliever Josh Tols tossed four scoreless innings.

The left-hander finished with six strikeouts and picked up the win against his former team.

Shunta Nakatsuka and Mark Hamburger, who started on Thursday night, then completed the shutout. 

Mosel worked five innings for the Bite, giving up three hits and punching out six.

Nick Hutchings and Matt Williams then came out of the bullpen and kept margin at one run.

But as has been the problem during the early stages of the season, Adelaide's offence misfired.

The Bite finished with just five hits, including two from import catcher Isaias Quiroz.

Adelaide's best chance to score came in the sixth inning.

Angus Roeger was tagged out at home trying to take on Young's arm after Chang Tai-shan singled to left field.

The Bite (1-7) host Canberra next starting on Thursday night, with Melbourne (4-4) returning home to face Brisbane in a rematch of last season's ABL Championship Series.

This story was not subject to the approval of the Australian Baseball League or its clubs.