Skip to main content
  • Adelaide Bite
  • Brisbane Bandits
  • Canberra Cavalry
  • Melbourne Aces
  • Perth Heat
  • Sydney Blue Sox
Below is an advertisement.
MLBAAP announces contingent for 2013 Academy
Best young talent in Australia head to Gold Coast
05/23/2013 12:29 PM ET
The MLBAAP enters its 13th season with a cast of talented future stars in 2013.
The MLBAAP enters its 13th season with a cast of talented future stars in 2013. (SMP Images)

GOLD COAST - The 2013 Major League Baseball Australian Academy Program is set to run from 13 July to 24 August.

In its thirteenth consecutive year, the world-renowned development program is designed to provide a pathway for elite players from this region to improve their skills in preparation for the rigors of professional and international baseball. 

Held at Palm Meadows Baseball Complex in Gold Coast, Australia, the MLB Australian Academy Program is sponsored by Major League Baseball and the Australian Baseball Federation, and aims to improve the quantity and quality of young baseball players coming out of the Region.

Players train and play six days a week and, since most are still of school age, have supervised academic sessions at night. Strength training is also part of the routine. It is a heavy workload - one to which many are not accustomed - but is designed to give the players a taste of the regimen they will experience if they get the opportunity to go into professional baseball. 

In order to provide as many players as possible with this opportunity, while simultaneously avoiding the reduced participation chances that come with overcrowding, the players attending are split into three groups: full-time attendees, Phase I part-time and Phase II part-time. The full list of players appears below:

Full-time attendees (13 July to 24 August):

Keiran McCluskey NSW    Zac Moran NSW    Andy Hayes Vic   
Nick Eckberg NSW   Scott Richards NSW   Jake Turnbull WA  
Daniel Beattie Vic   Sam Beattie QLD   James Philibossian
Callum Lethborg Vic   Lachlan Wells CNSW    
Lachlan Maddon Vic   Dan Carseldine QLD    
Bryce Collins QLD   Jye Deeble QLD    
Darcy Heppleston WA   Alex Oehome WA   
Bradley Simon NSW      
Dylan Fox QLD      
Lachlan McDonald QLD      
Rhys Steedman WA      
Max Barrett VIC      
Mitchell Simon NSW    
Marcel D'Avione VIC      
Nick Hutchings    
Dakota Mitchell    
Jared Cruz Connar MacDonald
James Trevanion ACT  Karl Hoschke
Zac Shepherd  
Sam Kennelly  
Ben Shorto  

Phase I attendees (13 July to 3 August):

Scott Simpson Vic Declan Richter SA   Adam Barbaro  NSW 
Ryan Erasmus Qld   Mitchell Holding Vic 
James Snelgrove SA     Joshua Loechel Baker
Kyle Egan QLD      Tristan King WA    
Dean Frew NSW   Daniel Myrmell NSW  
James McCallum NSW Nick Boys QLD 
Louis Baker QLD  Jace Ise 
Kevin Jordan QLD  Ryan Kift WA 
George Callil Vic  Alex Wells CNSW 
Ben Aslett VIC                  

Phase II attendees (4 August to 24 August):

Stuart Ralph WA   Tim Wakefield NSW  Cameron Power NSW  Tom Maxfield Vic
Michael Gahan QLD Hayden Timberlake QLD  Matthew Homfray Vic Josh Fritsch
Shuan Wright SA  Jake Bowey WA  Jalen McGee WA Corey Lyon QLD
Jason Lott ACT   Harry Baker QLD Jason Warbuton WA
    Jack Barrie QLD Troy Bullingham WA
    Brandon Michie QLD  
    Ben Keeping SA  
    Nico Van Der Linden SA  
    Rob Glendinning WA           

This story was not subject to the approval of the Australian Baseball League or its clubs.