Skip to main content
  • Adelaide Bite
  • Brisbane Bandits
  • Canberra Cavalry
  • Melbourne Aces
  • Perth Heat
  • Sydney Blue Sox
Below is an advertisement.
ABL announces schedule for 2013/14 season
Season to open with champions hosting Aces in Canberra
03/28/2013 10:42 AM ET
The Australian Baseball League's fourth season of play opens on 31 October in Canberra.
The Australian Baseball League's fourth season of play opens on 31 October in Canberra. 

SYDNEY, 28 March - The Australian Baseball League, brought to you by Be the Influence: Tackling Binge Drinking, has announced the schedule for the upcoming 2013/14 season. The ABL's fourth season will see the league's six teams each play 46 regular season games, culminating in the 2014 Preliminary Final and Championship Series.

The reigning Claxton Shield champion Canberra Cavalry will raise the curtain on the 2013/14 season on 31 October, hosting the Melbourne Aces on Opening Night at Narrabundah Ballpark. The following day, the league's remaining four clubs get in the action with the Adelaide Bite visiting Brisbane to take on the Bandits and the Perth Heat hosting the Sydney Blue Sox.

Teams will play a minimum of eight games against all opponents, and, building off of last year's successful schedule, the league once again has placed a greater emphasis on more home games, fewer midweek games, and a focus on games during the summer school holiday period.

Following their opening round series and a Week two trip to Sydney to take on the Blue Sox, the Cavalry will travel to Taichung, Taiwan from 15-20 November to represent the ABL in the prestigious 2013 Asia Series against the champions of Nippon Professional Baseball (Japan), the Korea Baseball Organisation (South Korea), the Chinese Professional Baseball League (Taiwan), and the Chinese Baseball Association (China) in a five-day tournament.

From Weeks 2 through 4, the ABL schedule will feature two series with two teams taking their bye weeks from ABL competition. Brisbane and Melbourne will be off in Week 2 while Perth will take a bye week during Canberra's Asia Series trip in Week 3. Adelaide and Sydney will take their pause in Week 4 before all six teams return to action in Week 5.

At the league's midway point, the ABL will host its third annual All-Star Game on Wednesday, 18 December, where the league's best international players will take on Team Australia in a special exhibition.

This story was not subject to the approval of the Australian Baseball League or its clubs.