Skip to main content
  • Adelaide Bite
  • Auckland Tuatara
  • Brisbane Bandits
  • Canberra Cavalry
  • Geelong-Korea
  • Melbourne Aces
  • Perth Heat
  • Sydney Blue Sox
Below is an advertisement.
Canberra wins the ABL Crown
02/09/2013 11:35 PM ET
Cavalry win the Claxton Shield!
Cavalry win the Claxton Shield! (Smp Images- Ben Southall)

Canberra, ACT: History has been made! The Canberra Cavalry, driven by Rolfe Renault, knocked off the two time reigning champions the Alcohol. Think Again Perth Heat by a score of 7-6 to take game two and the Australian Baseball League Championship Series. In front of a record 2,043 people at the Fort at Narrabundah the Canberra Cavalry brought the Claxton Shield to the Nation's Capital for the first time ever.

Nineteen-year-old Canberran Aaron Sloan was awarded the Most Valuable player for his amazing contribution to the weekend series. In tonight's game Sloan went 3-4 and was a solid wall on first base. Sloan was also a key player in game one going 2-4 with a homerun.

The game took a rocky start for Cavalry pitcher John Holdzkom with a lead off walk followed up by a hit by pitch. Those two runners would cross home on a single from Michael Ohlman to give the heat a 2-0 lead.

In the bottom half of the inning Kody Hightower's hot hitting continued as he rocketed one over the wall to bring the Cavalry within one 2-1. Holdzkom then calmed down to pitch three scoreless innings as the Cavalry did what they do best by stringing hits together to take a 6-2 lead.

The second inning was huge for the Cavalry, adding four runs. With runners on second and third, Ryan Stovall hit a line drive single to right to drive home two. After a walk put two runners on once again, Jeremy Barnes singled to bring another home. Then Jack Murphy followed up with a single of his own to bring the final run of the inning home and gave the Cavalry a 5-2 lead. In the third, Stovall added another RBI to his night with another single, this time to left to give the Cavalry a four run lead after three.

However Perth had a big inning of their own in the fifth adding four runs of their own to even the score at six all. With runners on second a third, Tim Kennelly singled to bring home the first run. Then with two outs Luke Hughes knocked a triple to deep center to bring home two more. The final run of the inning was a single by Allen de San Miguel to end John Holdzkom's night.

Michael Wells broke the tie in the seventh inning with a huge homerun to regain the lead for the Cavalry. Wells' homerun would be the game decider as the Cavalry claimed their first ever ABL championship on the coat tails of their valued veteran.

Holdzkom had a quality outing going four and two third innings allowing six runs on seven hits while striking out seven. The combination and Kyle Perkins and Steve Kent and Brodie Downs held off the opposition only allowing one hit without surrendering a run. Sean Toler came in to record the final outs of the game as history was made in the Nation's Capital.

Cavalry head coach Michael Collins thanked the players and the fans when he was awarded the Claxton Shield. "We have the best fans in Australia," he said. "This is amazing."

The Championship is the icing on the cake of a long journey for the 2012-13 Canberra Cavalry, and there will be more great baseball to come in the ACT.

This story was not subject to the approval of the Australian Baseball League or its clubs.