Skip to main content
  • Adelaide Bite
  • Brisbane Bandits
  • Canberra Cavalry
  • Melbourne Aces
  • Perth Heat
  • Sydney Blue Sox
Below is an advertisement.
Voting underway now for Fan Choice Award
Fan-driven honour presented by Fielders Choice
01/21/2013 4:04 PM ET
All six ABL teams have announced their finalists for the 2012/13 Fan Choice Award.
All six ABL teams have announced their finalists for the 2012/13 Fan Choice Award. (SMP Images)

SYDNEY, 21 January - Who is your favourite player in the Australian Baseball League presented by Be the Influence: Tackling Binge Drinking? Fans from across the globe will get to vote on Facebook for the second-annual ABL Fan Choice Awards presented by Fielders Choice!

The first round of voting will determine a Fan Choice Award winner for each of the league's six individual teams and will be conducted on their team Facebook pages beginning at noon on Monday, 21 January. Each team has selected five candidates that are listed below. Voting will run until 7pm local time on Sunday, 27 January with winners announced the following Monday.

Commencing on Monday, 28 January, the six team winners will compete in a league-wide vote for the title of ABL Fan Choice Award. Voting for this honour will run on the ABL Facebook page for 11 days throughout the ABL postseason. The winner of the ABL Fan Choice Award will be announced Thursday, February 7 at 7pm AEST, prior to the first game of the ABL Championship Series on Friday, February 8.

Last year, Alex Maestri of the Brisbane Bandits won the inaugural ABL Fan Choice Award. The Italian right-handed pitcher received over 1,110 fan votes to claim the title.

The following are the candidates for the 2013 ABL Fan Choice Awards. Click the links below to be taken to each team's Facebook page and to cast your ballot:

Adelaide Bite presented by SA Power Networks

-Ji-Man Choi, INF

-Zac Fuesser, LHP

-Richard Olson, RHP

-Dushan Ruzic, RHP

-Stefan Welch, INF

Brisbane Bandits

-Andrew Campbell, OF

-Cody Clark, C

-Chuck Lofgren, LHP

-Josh Roberts, OF

-Chris Smith, RHP

Canberra Cavalry driven by Rolfe Renault

-Adam Buschini, INF

-Brian Grening, RHP

-Kody Hightower, INF

-Steve Kent, LHP

-Jack Murphy, C 

Jet Couriers Melbourne Aces

-Zachary Arenson, RHP

-Elliot Biddle, OF

-Josh Davies, INF

-John Hussey, RHP

-Carlo Testa, OF

Alcohol. Think Again Perth Heat

-Corey Adamson, OF

-Luke Hughes, INF

-Sam Kennelly, INF

-Warwick Saupold, RHP

-Daniel Schmidt, LHP

Sydney Blue Sox

-Mitch Dening, OF

-Geoff Klein, C 

-Michael Lysaught, INF

-Chris Oxspring, RHP

-Matt Williams, RHP

This story was not subject to the approval of the Australian Baseball League or its clubs.