Skip to main content
  • Adelaide Bite
  • Brisbane Bandits
  • Canberra Cavalry
  • Melbourne Aces
  • Perth Heat
  • Sydney Blue Sox
Below is an advertisement.
Heat to take on Asia's best in 2012 Asia Series
ABL champs set for showcase event from 8-11 November
09/06/2012 2:09 PM ET
Perth made their first trip to the Asia Series last year as the ABL's reigning champions.
Perth made their first trip to the Asia Series last year as the ABL's reigning champions. (SMP Images)

SYDNEY, 6 September - The Australian Baseball League champion Perth Heat will go head-to-head with Asia’s baseball elite in Busan, South Korea from November 8th to 11th for bragging rights as Asia’s best baseball team.

The 2012 Asia Series, which brings together baseball champions from pro leagues in Australia, Korea, Japan, Chinese Taipei and China, will take place at Sajik Stadium, home of the fanatically supported Lotte Giants.

Defending ABL champion Alcohol. Think Again Perth Heat will compete against the champions of the Nippon Professional Baseball League (NPB), the second largest pro sports league in the world, the Korea Baseball Organisation (KBO), the Chinese Professional Baseball League (CPBL), and the China Baseball League (CBL).  

For the first time in the tournament’s history, six teams from five nations have been invited to take part instead of the usual four. The host nation has been awarded two spots, with one automatically allocated for the host club, the Lotte Giants.

Australian Baseball League General Manager Ben Foster was excited about the League’s second trip to the tournament.

“We’re incredibly proud as league to be a part of this prestigious tournament," Foster said. "The Asia Series provides us with a fantastic opportunity to demonstrate the quality of Australian baseball to a television audience which reaches into the tens of millions."

“After their first taste last year, I am sure Perth will be much better prepared, and hopefully we’ll see them bring home the top prize”.

This year’s tournament format will see the competing six teams divided into two pools; Pool A and B. The team with the highest winning percentage from each pool will advance to play the championship game, which will be held on November 11th at 14:00.

▶ Pool A: CBA, CPBL, Champion team of KBO (KBO 1)
▶ Pool B: ABL, NPB, Lotte Giants or the runner-up team of KBO (KBO 2)

The Champion will not only walk away with the prestigious title of Asia’s best, but also with their wallets considerably heavier; with the Organizer, KBO, offering up a 1 Billion Won case prize.






Nov. 8 (Thu.)


CPBL (A) : CBA (H) 



 KBO2 (A) : ABL (H)

Nov. 9 (Fri.)


ABL (A) : NPB (H) 


KBO1 (A) : CPBL (H) 

Nov. 10 (Sat.)


NPB (A) : KBO2 (H)


CBA (A) : KBO1 (H)

Nov. 11 (Sun.)


Championship Game

Nov. 12 (Mon.)


Makeup Day