Skip to main content
  • Adelaide Bite
  • Brisbane Bandits
  • Canberra Cavalry
  • Melbourne Aces
  • Perth Heat
  • Sydney Blue Sox
Below is an advertisement.
Aces New Home is the Melbourne Ballpark
ABL Team Moves to Laverton with Added Improvements to Grounds
07/13/2012 6:33 PM ET
 

MELBOURNE – The Jet Couriers Melbourne Aces of the Australian Baseball League (ABL) announced today that it will move to the Melbourne Ballpark in Laverton for the 2012-13 season.

The baseball and softball facility was once the home ground of the Melbourne Monarchs, one of Melbourne’s two professional baseball teams in the original Australian Baseball League that last played in 1998. More recently it was the home to the Victoria Aces four years ago.

Planned improvements include: a new infield synthetic turf, shortening the outfield fence to ensure more crowd-pleasing home runs, upgraded corporate areas and new premium seating located at field level. The ballpark will have an open air beer garden, an open area barbeque pit, as well as a family-friendly section that will have affordable prices for a great day out.

Home Schedule

Date Team Time
Fri. Nov. 9, 2012 Adelaide 7:35 p.m.
Sat. Nov. 10, 2012 Adelaide 4:05 p.m.
Sun. Nov. 11, 2012 Adelaide 1:05 p.m.
     
Fri. Nov. 30, 2012 Perth 7:35 p.m.
Sat. Dec. 1, 2012 Perth (DH)
(two 7 inning games)
12:05 p.m. / 3:05 p.m.
Sun. Dec. 2, 2012 Perth 1:05 p.m.
     
Thurs. Dec. 13, 2012 Canberra 7:35 p.m.
Fri. Dec. 14, 2012 Canberra (DH)
(two 7 inning games)
5:05 p.m. / 8:05 p.m.
Sat. Dec. 15, 2012 Canberra 1:05 p.m.
     
Thurs. Dec. 20, 2012 Sydney 7:35 p.m.
Fri. Dec. 21, 2012 Sydney 7:35 p.m.
Sat. Dec. 22, 2012 Sydney 1:05 p.m.
Sun. Dec. 23, 2012 Sydney 1:05 p.m.
     
Thurs. Jan. 3, 2013 Brisbane 7:35 p.m.
Fri. Jan. 4, 2013 Brisbane 7:35 p.m.
Sat. Jan. 5, 2013 Brisbane 1:05 p.m.
Sun. Jan. 6, 2013 Brisbane 1:05 p.m.
     
Thurs. Jan. 17, 2013 Adelaide 7:35 p.m.
Fri. Jan. 18, 2013 Adelaide 7:35 p.m.
Sat. Jan. 19, 2013 Adelaide 4:05 p.m.
Sun. Jan. 20, 2013 Adelaide 1:05 p.m.

 

The ballpark is located at West Gate Freeway/Western Ring Road/Princes Freeway interchange, an easy 16k drive from the CBD, and has ample parking for fans.
Public transit can also be taken to the ballpark, as the Werribee line from Flinders Street station provides nearby transit to the ballpark by getting off at the Laverton station. It is a short 10 minute walk from the Ballpark.

The fan-friendly venue will again feature mascot Maverick, the Fabulous Catering cheerleaders and other promotions to enhance the overall experience of Australian baseball.

The team's membership packages and prices will be announced on Monday, via the Melbourne Aces website www.melbourneaces.com.au or by calling 03 9376 6754.

About Melbourne Ballpark
-- Open grass areas ideal for families at reduced pricing
--Open air beer garden
--4 change rooms with direct access to main field
--3 additional baseball fields on the outside (one senior and two junior diamonds)
--Upgraded corporate facilities with full kitchen facilities and view of main field
-- Administration office located on site

About Melbourne Aces’ 2012/2013 season
The Jet Courier Melbourne Aces and the ABL are in its third season of existence. The fixture consists of 45 regular season games and two rounds of playoffs from November through early February. The Aces will play its home games at Melbourne Ballpark at Laverton. The league is affiliated with the Australian Baseball Federation and Major League Baseball.

For more information about the Melbourne Aces visit www.melbourneaces.com.au. To arrange an interview with General Manager Windsor Knox, contact Niall Adler on 03 9376 6754.

This story was not subject to the approval of the Australian Baseball League or its clubs.