Skip to main content
  • Adelaide Bite
  • Auckland Tuatara
  • Brisbane Bandits
  • Canberra Cavalry
  • Geelong-Korea
  • Melbourne Aces
  • Perth Heat
  • Sydney Blue Sox
Below is an advertisement.
Blue Sox release roster details for their series against the Aces
Returning players joined by two imports
11/01/2011 7:13 PM ET
The Blue Sox lineup for Opening Day has been announced
The Blue Sox lineup for Opening Day has been announced (Geoff Jones / SMP Images)

The Sydney Blue Sox, in conjunction with the Australian Baseball League, have released the team's Opening Day Roster. The majority of the roster is home bred talent, however two prospects from the USA minor league system join the roster fresh from successful seasons in the US summer.

Tyler Collins is a 21-year old outfielder who joins the team from the Detroit Tigers organisation. He is from Lubbock, Texas and played for the Connecticut Tigers in the New York Penn League in 2011, where he hit .313, with eight homeruns, 31 RBIs, and eight stolen bases.

Gift Ngoepe is a 21-year old infielder who is signed with the Pittsburgh Pirates organisation. Gift was the first black South African to sign a professional contract when he signed in October 2008. Gift hit .306 last season in the class A West Virginia Power.

The entire infield for the Opening Series is comprised of returning Sox, including Josh Dean, Michael Lysaught, Jacob Younis, Boss Moanaroa and Shannon Pender. Alex Johnson is also returning to the Sox.

The outfield for Opening Day will be led by the 2010/2011 ABL Rookie of the Year Trent Schmutter. Joining him will be Moko Moanaroa, who also saw playing time last year, and the newcomer Tyler Collins.

The majority of the pitching staff from 2010/2011 will return, and will be looking to build on the successful year in which they finished first in the ABL in ERA (3.31) and allowed the fewest walks (101). Sydney has a total of 14 pitchers returning, including pitching coach Chris Oxspring, 2010/2011 ABL Reliever of the Year Dae-Sung Koo, and left handed pitcher Craig Anderson. They have added four new arms to their staff, right handers Lee Ingram, Josh Wells, and Luke Wilkins, and left-hander Aidan Francis.

Handling the pitchers will be Pat Maat, with support from Trent D'Antonio.

The Sydney Blue Sox will begin their campaign to defend their minor premiership when they host the Melbourne Aces this Friday, the 4th of November, at Blacktown International Sportspark. Gates open at 6:00pm, first pitch is at 7.30pm. Tickets are available now from

Proposed Opening Roster - Sydney Blue Sox

Series 1 vs Melbourne Aces 4-6 November



  • Todd Grattan
  • Vaughan Harris
  • Wayne Lundgren
  • Chris Oxspring
  • Lee Ingram
  • Josh Wells
  • Matthew Williams
  • Todd Van Steensel (35 man)
  • Alessio Angelucci (35 man)
  • Richard Olson (35 man)
  • Luke Wilkins (35 man)
  • Tim Stanford (35 man)
  • Aaron Sookee (35 man)
  • Jarryd Sullivan (inactive)


  • Craig Anderson
  • Aidan Francis
  • Dae-Sung Koo
  • Matthew Rae
  • Matthew Bennett (35 man)


  • Pat Maat
  • Trent D'Antonio
  • Guy Edmonds (35 man)
  • Craig Cant (35 man)


  • Josh Dean
  • Michael Lysaught
  • Jacob Younis
  • Boss Moanaroa
  • Shannon Pender
  • Alex Johnson
  • Gift Ngoepe (35 man)


  • Moko Moanaroa
  • Tyler Collins
  • Trent Schmutter
  • Mitch Dening (35 man)
  • David Kandilas (35 man)

This story was not subject to the approval of the Australian Baseball League or its clubs.