Skip to main content
  • Adelaide Bite
  • Auckland Tuatara
  • Brisbane Bandits
  • Canberra Cavalry
  • Geelong-Korea
  • Melbourne Aces
  • Perth Heat
  • Sydney Blue Sox
Below is an advertisement.
Perth Wins!
02/13/2011 8:04 PM ET


13 February 2011

The 'Alcohol Think Again' Perth Heat have won the inaugural Delta Air Lines Australian Baseball League Championship Series and the Claxton Shield after beating the Adelaide 'ETSA' Bite 7-1 in Game 3 at Barbagallo Ballpark on Sunday.

After dropping the opening game of the series 4-3 on Friday, Perth rallied to win Saturday's second game 9-2 courtesy of eight runs and a Grand Slam home run in the fifth inning before wrapping up the title with Game 3's victory.

Perth starting pitcher Ben Moore was named the Finals MVP after throwing nine complete innings, conceding just four hits, one run, and no walks while striking out ten Adelaide batters.

Moore and Adelaide ace Paul Mildren kept the batters quiet through the first four innings before the fifth stanza once again became a nightmare for the Bite.

With Game 2 hero Ronnie Welty at third base and Mathew Kennelly at second for the Heat, Mitchell Graham slammed a line drive double to centre field which allowed both of his teammates to score before Tim Kennelly, at the very next at bat, brought home Graham courtesy of his fly ball single to left field.

Down 3-0, any hope Adelaide had of rallying was quickly dismissed after Perth's offense opened up in the eighth inning to effectively snatch the win.

After Tim Kennelly crossed home plate courtesy of Luke Hughes' line drive to centre field, left fielder Robbie Widlansky brought the raucous Perth crowd to their feet with a booming home run over the centre field fence to add two more to the score.

Perth added one more run to their tally late in the eighth inning, and Adelaide clawed one back at the top of the ninth, but Moore and the Heat proved to be too efficient under pressure and were soon celebrating their successful season on field in front of their appreciative fans.

This story was not subject to the approval of the Australian Baseball League or its clubs.