Skip to main content
  • Adelaide Bite
  • Auckland Tuatara
  • Brisbane Bandits
  • Canberra Cavalry
  • Geelong-Korea
  • Melbourne Aces
  • Perth Heat
  • Sydney Blue Sox
Below is an advertisement.
Sydney's Koo, Canberra's Gregorious Rewarded
02/10/2011 6:20 PM ET


Just one day before the 2011 Delta Air Lines Australian Baseball League Championship Series gets underway, Sydney Blue Sox pitcher Dae-Sung Koo and Canberra Cavalry shortstop Didi Gregorius have been named the Reliever of the Year and the winner of the Golden Glove respectively.

Koo is the second player from the Blue Sox to win an ABL award after Wednesday's announcement that Trent Schmutter had been named the ABL's Rookie of the Year.

A key part of Sydney's vaunted pitching rotation, Koo was called to the mound 18 times over the course of the regular season, allowing just four runs while striking out 30 opposition batters.

The 41 year-old Korean was dominant as a closer, tallying 12 saves to help his team to first place in the standings, with the next highest number of saves earned by an ABL pitcher being just three. Koo won the award ahead of Brisbane's Chris Mowday and Melbourne's Adam Bright.

Canberra's Gregorius earned the ABL's Golden Glove, which is awarded to the player judged to have made the biggest contribution in the field.

The Amsterdam, Netherlands, born Gregorius recently played in the United States for teams affiliated with the Cincinnati Reds and proved to be an important part of Canberra's line-up this season.

While the Cavalry struggled for offense - they ranked sixth in terms of batting average and runs scored - the team stayed in contention for the Playoffs till the end of the regular season with their defence keeping them competitive in many games.

Gregorius won the award over Perth catcher Allan de San Miguel and Adelaide's Stefan Welch.

The season comes to its climax from Friday 11 February when the 'Alcohol Think Again' Perth Heat hosts the Adelaide 'ETSA' Bite in Game 1 of the Delta Air Lines ABL Championship Series at Barbagallo Ballpark in Perth.

The best-of-three series will be shown live on FOX SPORTS.

ABL awards are decided by the submission of votes by all ABL coaches, plus selected media, scouts and staff who have closely followed the ABL season.

Reliever of the Year: Dae-Sung Koo (Sydney) - 86 votes; Chris Mowday (Brisbane) - 43 votes; Adam Bright (Melbourne) - 29 votes.

Golden Glove: Didi Gregorius (Canberra) - 43 votes; Allan de San Miguel (Perth) - 39 votes; Stefan Welch (Adelaide) - 38 votes.

This story was not subject to the approval of the Australian Baseball League or its clubs.